Skip to main content

Humanities and Social Sciences Staff Recognized for Excellence and Service

Cindy & Alicia Win Awards
Cindy Wooden & Alicia Light Win Awards

The college held its annual Awards for Excellence luncheon April 26, 2018, to recognize and celebrate Humanities and Social Sciences staff.

Six staff members were nominated by their peers or supervisors for Awards for Excellence.   

The college’s 2018 nominees were Elizabeth Benefield, Institute for Nonprofits; Ingrid Hoffius, History; Alicia Light, Center for Family and Community Engagement; Julia Matthews-McClain, Psychology; Stephanie McBroom, English; and Cindy Wooden, Center for Family and Community Engagement.  

The two staff members who received the college’s Award for Excellence were Alicia Light and Stephanie McBroom. Other nominees received Pride of the WolfPack certificates that recognize NC State employees for special and unique contributions.

Winners from each of the university’s colleges will be recognized at the NC State University Awards for Excellence ceremony on June 11 at 2:00 pm in the Hunt Library. Five individuals will receive special distinction at that event and go forward for consideration for the Governor’s Awards for Excellence, the highest honor awarded to a state employee.

The college’s awards program also noted staff members who have reached milestone years in their careers with the state:

Five years of service:

  • Zack Dean, CHASS IT
  • Joe Johnson, Academic Affairs
  • Deborah Moore, Center for Family and Community Engagement

Ten years of service:

  • Danica Cullinan, English
  • Sasha Fradin, Psychology
  • Christina Gregory, Psychology  
  • Marianne Latz, Center for Family and Community Engagement  
  • Dara Leeder, Academic Affairs

15 years of service:

  • Donise Benton, Communication
  • William Poindexter, Center for Family and Community Engagement  

25 years of service:

  • Faye Walker, Foreign Languages and Literatures  

Former award nominees served on the luncheon planning committee and selected this year’s winners. Led by awards coordinator Crissy Williams-Brown, the committee was comprised of Michelle Branch, Academic Affairs; Melissa Jackson, English; Missy Seate, Research Office; and Donise Benton, Communication.