Skip to main content

Staff Celebrated, Thanked at Annual Event

The college held its annual Awards for Excellence luncheon April 19 to recognize and celebrate Humanities and Social Sciences staff.

Seven staff members were nominated by their peers or supervisors for Awards for Excellence. Nominations are based on achievement in outstanding service, innovation, public service, safety, heroism and human relations. This year’s college nominees demonstrate a commitment to service, quality of work, and dedication to excellence. Winners from each of the university’s colleges will  also be recognized at the NC State University Awards for Excellence ceremony on June 14 at 2:00 pm in the Talley Student Center. Five individuals will receive special distinction at that event and go forward for consideration for the Governor’s Awards for Excellence, the highest honor awarded to a state employee.

The college’s 2016 nominees were Danielle Carr, English; John Craig, Sociology and Anthropology; Sandy Cyr, Institute for Nonprofits; Marcella Middleton, Center for Family and Community Engagement; Linda Orlandi, Jenny Rasch, and Carletta Smith, all from Sociology and Anthropology. Each nominee received a plaque as well as a Pride of the WolfPack award, which recognizes NC State employees for special and unique contributions.

The two staff members who received the college’s Award for Excellence were John Craig and Marcella Middleton.

Marcella Middleton and John Craig received the college’s 2016 Awards of Excellence.

Sociology and Anthropology Department Head Bill Smith lauded John Craig’s ability to raise the morale of his department. “What makes John so special is his professionalism, calm demeanor, and thorough efficiency,” Smith said. “When you enter John’s office, he is all about letting you know he is there to help you. … His impact on morale is clear and virtually tangible in our department. … Whether it be [the morale] of faculty or students, his presence, his work, his self-reliance all combine to reassure us that we will survive the scare and be here tomorrow to carry on our work,” Smith said. “These are invaluable traits.”

Marcella Middleton serves as youth partner trainer for CFFACE.  “In the role of trainer, Marcella combines both the passion of an advocate and the poise of an educator,” said Joan Pennell, CFFACE director.  “The combination of her personal experience and her educational background in social work offer credibility to training audiences.  Her ability to blend these two roles is part of what makes her impact on professional and community members so powerful. … I have the deep pleasure of seeing Marcella in action, most recently in my Social Work class where she co-facilitated a youth leadership café. The students appreciated her ability to bring to life the hopes of youth in foster care and to educate them about how they can best support these strong young people and push for social equity. Marcella is a creative, compassionate, and savvy team member who represents so well our center and the university in the community.”

Staff Celebrated, Thanked at Annual Event

Cristina Carrillo, Laura Kelly, Lauren Kirkpatrick, Courtney Hamilton, Crissy Williams-Brown and Elizabeth Benefield were among the staff recognized for years of service.

The college’s awards program also noted staff members who have reached milestone years in their careers with the state. These staff members have completed five years of service: Laura Kelly, Communication Department; Stephanie McBroom, English Department; and Margaret Pharris, School of Public and International Affairs. Staff who  have reached the ten year marker are Elizabeth Benefield, Institute for Nonprofits; Cristina Carrillo, Psychology Department; Dennis Craven, Psychology Department; Courtney Hamilton, History Department; Nikki Harris, Office of Business Services; Lauren Kirkpatrick, College Communications; and Jennifer Norton, Psychology Department. And these staff members have completed 15 years of service: Mac McGee, School of Public and International Affairs and Crissy Williams-Brown, Dean’s Office.

Staff Celebrated, Thanked at Annual Event

Awards of Excellence committee members Scott Maddox, Cristina Carrillo, Ashley Greene, Laura Kelly, Crissy Williams-Brown and Joe Johnson.

Last year’s award nominees served on the luncheon planning committee and selected this year’s winners. Led by awards coordinator Crissy Williams-Brown, the committee included Cristina Carrillo, Psychology; Ashley Greene, Development Office; Joe Johnson, Academic Affairs; Laura Kelly,  Communication; Scott Maddox, IT; and Mac McGee, SPIA.